Skip to content

The Sea Wall of Davao (a.k.a Bay Walk)

September 14, 2010

(Note: This was initially posted in my old wordpress blog two years ago.)


The famous statue of David.

***

The terms “Sea Wall” and “Bay Walk” are already becoming a little too common. I mean, there’s a Sea wall and Bay Walk in Manila. Then there’s a Sea wall in Cebu. And of course we have a Sea Wall here in Davao too. In other words, there’s basically a “Sea Wall” almost everywhere in the Philippines.

Anyway, Davao’s very own Sea Wall (or Bay Walk) is located right along Times Beach and Queensland Motel. It was a relatively small place not too long ago, but has since expanded. Aside from the refreshing view of the sea, other attractions include a gigantic statue of a naked David, a handful of animals you’d normally find only in zoos and a very clean mini-park right along seashore.

My officemates and I used to frequent this place years ago, especially at night. I remember the times when we’d drop by at this place after a hard day’s work and just spend the whole night chattering amidst the dark sky, sea and glittering lights. It’s just a nice place to unwind, really. So when I met up with my buddy and former officemate Rey Mendoza at the Sea Wall yesterday afternoon, I couldn’t help but look back at the good old days.

Sea Wall’s cool afternoon air and seaside view gives me peace of mind… even for a moment. I just wish I could drop by this place more frequently. And with all the pressure haunting me now, I know I need it.

***

Views you’d expect from a place called “Sea Wall”… and more.

The Seawall has a mini-zoo that features Ostriches, Deers and several types of birds.

Close-up shot of an Ostrich.

Vendors abound. Balut, Ice Cream, hard boiled eggs, Kwek2x, Peanuts, Fishballs, Juice, Junk foods and more.


No, this isn’t Malacanang Palace. This is Queensland Motel!



The marker says it all.

Close-up shot of the “faithfully reproduced” Mermaid from Copenhagen.

The marker says it all… part two.

The Seawall is just a perfect place for families…

… and lovers, of course.

Catching small fishes.

The Sea Wall at night.

Bapa Aris and Rey under the moonlight.

***

Many thanks to Rey for lending me a DigiCam that I used to take these photos. Salamat kaayo bai! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a comment